If you are contemplating the end of your marriage you likely have a number of questions relating to the divorce process in South Carolina and about life after divorce. If there are minor children involved in the divorce you may also be wondering how much child support you will have to pay in South Carolina if you will be the non-custodial parent post-divorce. Only an experienced South Carolina family law attorney can evaluate the particular facts and circumstances of your divorce and provide you with specific advice regarding child support; however, a better understanding of the South Carolina Child Support Guidelines may be beneficial in the meantime.
Like many states, South Carolina has adopted “Child Support Guidelines” in an effort to eradicate disparity in child support orders as was common in years past. The Child Support Guidelines are intended to be used in every divorce case where child support is ordered. A judge may deviate some from the Guidelines; however, a good reason must be provided for doing so.
Child support in South Carolina is calculated by looking at a number of factors, including:
Income of both parents
Number of children from this marriage
Number of other children living in the home
Existing child or spousal support orders
Health care expenses
Child care expenses
Number of overnights each parent has with the children
To calculate the amount of child support you will be required to pay you must first look at the combined gross income of both parents. Next, calculate you percentage of that total. The State of South Carolina has already created a table that establishes how much of the combined total income should be available for the child(ren). Multiple your percentage by that figure to arrive at a base support amount. For example, if your spouse earns $2,000 a month and you earn $4,000 a month the combined total is $6,000 a month of which you earn 2/3 or 0.667 percent. The Child Support Guidelines indicate that $1,115 should be available for the children’s support each month if you have two children with a combined income of $6,000. Your base support, therefore, is $743.71 ($1115 x 0.667 = $743.71). Your base support amount may then be adjusted up or down when factors such as health insurance costs, child care costs, or overnights are included in the calculations.
If you have additional questions or concerns about child support, or divorce in general, contact the experienced South Carolina family law attorneys at Kuhn & Kuhn Law Firm by calling 843-577-3700 to schedule your appointment.
To learn more, please download our free Spousal Support in a South Carolina Divorce here.
- Preparing for Coronavirus - March 10, 2020
- Incapacity Planning - December 20, 2018
- Special Accounts for People with Special Needs - December 17, 2018